Ten Questions with Steve Tyler

Tyler_SteveTell me a little about yourself – your background and your education.

I was born and raised in South Bend, moved to Bloomington for college, and stayed for 8 years, until Indiana University  told me I could no longer keep taking undergraduate classes (because I had accumulated a Bachelor’s Degree in Philosophy and a Bachelors’s Degree in Psychology).  So, I decided to get an MSW, moved to Indianapolis, and upon completing Graduate School, I got a job at Tri-County Mental Health, which later became BehaviorCorp, and then Aspire.

How long have you worked for Aspire?

30 years.

What positions have you held with Aspire?

I have held the following positions: Staff Therapist, Crisis Supervisor, Lebanon Outpatient Manager, Supervisor of Wraparound Services, Noblesville Outpatient Director, and Lebanon Outpatient Director.

Describe your current position, including your responsibilities?

I am currently the Director of the Lebanon Outpatient office.  I do direct service in the office.  On a monthly basis, Dr. Sheward and I do evaluations of inmates at the Boone County Jail.  I supervise clinical staff, serve on various local boards and committees, and maintain relationships between Aspire and local stakeholders.

What does a typical day as [YOUR position] look like? 

I typically see 2-3 clients per day.  I also serve as chief problem-solver, including accommodating emergencies and finding solutions to unusual problems.  I also have frequent interface with local agencies and stakeholders, attending many meetings and events.

What in your educational background and work experience prepared you for your current position?

I studied Philosophy in college, which I believe helps provide context for the work we do as well as helping me develop my sense of logic and problem-solving skills.  I also obtained a Bachelor’s degree in Psychology which has been invaluable in providing an understanding of work in mental health.  And of course, my MSW training provided tremendous practical skills to work in the field.

If you weren’t working in this field, what would you be doing?

I think I would have liked to work in a creative field such as making documentaries or teaching.

What is it that drew you to the field of mental health?

It seemed like a logical extension of the education I was pursuing, particularly a Bachelor’s Degree in Psychology.  Mental health work just seemed like a fascinating venue.

What impact do you feel your work has had on Aspire and its clients?

I believe I have helped a lot of people in big and small ways.  I believe I have saved a few lives as well.  I like to think that I have helped contribute to the culture and success of Aspire over the years as well.

What things do you do to help you cope with the demands of your job?

I have been blessed with a wonderful family and in particular, a great wife, who provide a lot of love and support, although I usually don’t feel overly stressed.  I enjoy my work and I am good at compartmentalizing.

Steve Tyler is the Director of Outpatient Services at Aspire Indiana’s Lebanon office. While the beliefs and opinions expressed in this blog are solely those of Mr. Tyler, you can learn more about Aspire Indiana at https://www.facebook.com/AspireIndiana.

This entry was posted in Addiction, Mental Health, Recovery and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

