Ten Questions with Barbara Logan

LoganBarbaraTell me a little about yourself – your background and your education.

I was born and raised in central Indiana, and spent most of my childhood here.  Due to family needs, I left here and briefly lived in Chicago.  I have a degree in Psychiatric rehabilitation, one in Psychology, and two business degrees .

How long have you worked for Aspire?

I’ve worked here almost six years if you don’t count the year I worked here in the 1980s.  At that time, I moved to another area of the state and worked as a case manager with those with serious illnesses.  I returned here in 2008.

What positions have you held with Aspire?

During that year in the 1980s, I was a residential coach at McMahan house.  When I returned to Aspire in 2008, I managed the Chase Street case management team.  In 2011 I moved to the position of Director of Supported Living services for Aspire.

Describe your current position, including your responsibilities?

I am clinical lead of the programs including our group homes, community based housing, Homeless and PATH programs, and a piece of our health information technology programs.  I directly supervisor the group home supervisors and the case managers in the PATH and HIT programs.

What does a typical day as Director of Supported Living Services look like? 

I spend a great deal of time providing support and direction in all of our covered counties in order to keep systems and programs moving in a client Recovery, and Center focused direction. I travel to all facilities weekly or by-weekly and am available as much as possible to the teams within all the services.

What in your educational background and work experience prepared you for your current position?

I think my background working within community based services such as the services that I now supervise, over the past many years, has given me a well-rounded perspective of program needs from all sides.

If you weren’t working in this field, what would you be doing?

I am sure I would be in a helping profession as I believe we can’t be our best unless we work to help those around us reach their potential.

What is it that drew you to the field of mental health?

During my time in Chicago, I lived with an aunt who was a public health nurse.  Listening to her concerns about the people that she worked with whom she felt had “no voice” moved me to want to try to bridge that gap and help others in that situation.

What impact do you feel your work has had on Aspire and its clients?

I believe that my passion and focus on working with clients on identifying and achieving their recovery moves them to where they want to be, and clearly reflects Aspire’s purpose as well.

What things do you do to help you cope with the demands of your job?

I am an avid reader (not much of a TV watcher), and during the summer I spend a lot of time outdoors.  I also like swimming.

Barbara Logan is the Director of Supported Living Services at Aspire Indiana. While the beliefs and opinions expressed in this blog are solely those of Ms. Logan, you can learn more about Aspire Indiana at https://www.facebook.com/AspireIndiana.

This entry was posted in Homelessness, Housing, Mental Health, Recovery. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

