Love in the Workplace?

Aspire is undergoing both an organizational and cultural change. It is so exciting to belong to a company that is attending to its people at the same time it is broadening its business strategy.  As the vision statement reads, we not only want to be a recognized leader in healthcare transformation, we want to be an employer of choice.  I encourage all of us not to miss this! Aspire wants each one of us to know we are valued, appreciated and loved! Yep! Loved!

I truly believe LOVE belongs in the workplace.  People today need this more than anything! I absolutely LOVE my colleagues that I work with on a daily basis. I embarrass them frequently because I tell them so…outloud, in front of everyone!  

While I believe LOVE belongs in the workplace everyday, it is especially true during times of change.  Change can be a fear-filled process.  It is my personal belief that LOVE and fear cannot reside in the same space.  So, I intentionally make an effort to operate out of LOVE not fear.  So what does this look like for me at work?  Giving coworkers the benefit of the doubt.  Seeking first to understand rather than be understood1.  Lowering my defenses & not going on the offense.  Giving credit where credit is due.  Showing respect.  Forgiving others.  Listening.

Michael Carroll is a human resource professional, author and founder of Awake at Work2.  Carroll explains that often fear is silenced in the workplace.  He challenges us to step beyond the silence of fear, “not just to speak our minds whenever and to whomever we please, but offering opinions at the right time and in the correct setting.”  And while he didn’t call it LOVE, he listed actions that demonstrate the LOVE I believe is needed in the workplace, “Accepting criticism, listening deeply, collaborating with others, respecting privacy, discussing difficult topics thoughtfully, and being precise in our speech.”  It is by doing so that we are able to “skillfully and consistently build a workplace free from fear.”

As we build a new organization, remember Aspire is not a place but its people.  We are not bricks and mortar.  We are not a warehouse full of inventory or a factory full of machines.  We serve over 11,000 people a year and we are a workforce of over 500 staff.  We are Aspire. Together we can build a workplace free from fear.  Together…we are making health and well-being a reality!  

I am so fortunate to belong to a work culture that values relationships where we can serve each other with love, empathy and compassion. How unique and refreshing and differentiating!  Aspire is my kind of people!

¹Stephen Covey, “The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People”.
²Michael Carroll, “Awake At Work”

bios_scott

About the Author: Barbara Scott is the Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer at Aspire Indiana. Learn more about Aspire Indiana on Facebook or at its website.

This entry was posted in Employment, Integrated Healthcare, Uncategorized, Workplace Culture and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Love in the Workplace?

  1. This is an amazing article and I agree. For the last 19 years I have felt nothing but love from those I work for and with. Aspire is my home away from home and I am very blessed to be part of such an awesome team and family.

  2. Pingback: Oops in the Workplace! | Aspire Indiana, Inc.

  3. Mark Thomas says:

    I am impressed with the apparent culture of Aspire. It seems to me that he intention of creating an atmosphere of care and support for staff in addition to clients/patients is cutting edge. It sounds like a wonderful place to work and I hope, one day, to be a part of this team.

Leave a Reply

